Pride and Asking for Help

Tell me, wisdom,
when did the quiet
become an empty tub
with my red knees
to my puddled chin?
Such tenacious pride
has no value
because it takes place
in the sense
of value.
So tell me, wisdom,
where is the warm water
you promised me?
There is no glory
in being naked,
cupped by porcelain arms.
I’ll clean myself
in tears
if I have to
before I’ll be okay
with all those waiting outside
with warm buckets of water
coming in.
But tell me, wisdom,
what worth is there
in that?
Leave a Reply

