House Hunting

 

House One:

I’m sure at one point
you were beautiful.
But someone came
and took and took
without giving back,
and now you’re but frame
and sheet rock.

Trailer:

I bet I could scream
as loud as I could
for help
and no one would respond.
Because that would be
the usual sound
for this neighborhood.

Lot:

There’s nothing here
but hillside.

House Two:

Built with the intention
of being home
to the very definition
of boisturous,
but gutted
by a fire,
and now waiting
for someone
quiet.

Home:

And you.
The perfect one.
Fit to all my shapes
and needs,
you’re just out of reach.
Unless I want to
dedicate
my life
to keeping you.

Leave a Reply

