Anxiety is an Alarm That Can’t Turn Off

Turn off the alarm
blazing in
my central medulum
of gray matter
and hypocampus.
That ‘primal alert’
the flight or flight–
just turn it off.
Because it’s always
on.

Wind up, wind up,
releaseing through strain
not switch or choice,
because ou were wound
for far too long,
and now the spring
is tangled,
and the alarm is always
punching out
whatever space
of breath
I have.

Turn off, turn off,
please someone, turn off,
cut into my brain,
take out the alarm,
burn the veins along the way.
Turn it off
I can’t breath,
I’m forced to live
without remembering
what it means to live.

So turn it off!
Turn my brain
off.

2 thoughts on “Anxiety is an Alarm That Can’t Turn Off

  1. “I’m forced to live
    without remembering
    what it means to live.

    So turn it off!
    Turn my brain
    off.” This resonates with me so deeply. I have severe OCD that leads to my fair share of panic attacks and general anxiousness. Thank you for writing and sharing such a lovely poem. 🙂

Leave a Reply

